Spencer Museum of Art The University of Kansas


  • Spencer Consort presents "Earth, Water, Fire, and Air"
  • Performance
  • 2/20/2011
  • 14:30-16:00
  • Spencer Museum of Art
  • Host: Spencer Museum of Art
Event Description
The Spencer Consort presents a concert entitled “Earth, Water, Fire, and Air.” The featured work is "The Elements" by French Baroque composer Jean-Féry Rebel (1666-1747), a suite that evokes the classical four elements in picturesque ways. Other composers represented on the concert include Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750), Johann Friedrich Fasch (1688-1758), Georg Philipp Telemann (1681-1767), and Jacques Offenbach (1819-1880), among others. The Spencer Consort plays on instruments like those in use during the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries. Its members include Baroque flutists John Boulton and Joy Laird, harpsichordist Elizabeth Berghout, and Baroque cellist Paul Laird. Guest musicians for this performance include alto recorder player Bailey Pike and Baroque cellist Hsun Lin. The concert is free and open to the public. For more information, call Paul Laird at 864-9716 or contact him by email at plaird@ku.edu.